Connect with us

Search Rock Confidential

Music Videos

Cobra Spell Unleash New Single “The Devil Inside Of Me”

“The Devil Inside Of Me” is taken from the band’s upcoming debut album, 666, set for release December 1, 2023 via Napalm Records.

photo by Raquel Garcia

Femme 80s glam metal rockers Cobra Spell are back for more with their second single “The Devil Inside Of Me.”

After releasing a smoking hot music video for their first single, “S.E.X.,” the quintet lures with another temptation, both visually and musically. The songwriting skills of up-and-coming guitar phenomenon and founding member Sonia Anubis shine on this catchy future hit, proving that the highly promising band has reached a whole new level on their upcoming debut album, 666, out December 1, 2023 via Napalm Records.

Founded in 2019 by Sonia Anubis, Cobra Spell‘s current lineup is completed by Kristina Vega on vocals, Twitch streamer Noelle dos Anjos on guitar, Hale Naphtha on drums and Roxy Herrera on bass. Together, they have released two globally praised EPs, Love Venom (2020) and Anthems Of The Night (2022). With these aces under their studded leather belts, Cobra Spell are gearing up to introduce their first full-length, aiming for nothing less than 80s rock ‘n’ roll world domination.

Sonia comments on “The Devil Inside Of Me”: “‘The Devil Inside of Me’ speaks about how a girl leaves aside a life oppressed by a religious upbringing. She decides to follow her own path by doing what really makes her happy in life, which is translated in passions that are not common in religious environments. Her family sees it as being troubled & lost – when in reality, she is just living her life freely as she is meant to. She owns her life. Her family distances themselves from her due to her choices. Sometimes, living a free life has a painfully expensive price.”

A heavily classic rock inspired intro track paves the way for 666. The essence of 666 is without a doubt untamable and unapologetic feminine power, refreshingly twisting typical lyrical themes of 80s sleaze metal – particularly present on tracks like “Satan Is a Woman” and “Bad Girl Crew.” Cobra Spell don’t limit themselves to glam rock and heavy metal clichés with their instrumentation either – from tingling synths to a groovy saxophone solo on “Love = Love,” the band skillfully combines different 80s-inspired soundscapes. Cobra Spell’s songwriting skills especially shine on “The Devil Inside Of Me” and emotional “Fly Away” – the latter representing one of the slower songs on the album. Mesmerizing melodies and absorbing drum patterns are topped off by raspy rock ‘n’ roll vocals on the W.A.S.P.-inspired anthem of runaways and rebels, “Warrior From Hell,” before the shredding “High On Love” wraps the album up on an uplifting note.

The band adds: “Unleash the power of our upcoming album, 666 – an album that defines convention and rebels against the limitations imposed on us, women. This is a sonic journey that embraces the devil’s number as a symbol of personal autonomy and freedom. 666 is not just music; it’s an act of rebellion against gender inequality, a scream for freedom of expression, and a fight to destigmatize sexual expression for women. Join us in this unapologetic quest for equality and empowerment.”

666 track list:

01. 666
02. S.E.X.
03. Satan Is A Woman
04. Hotline 666
05. Bad Girl Crew
06. The Devil Inside Of Me
07. Fly Away
08. Love = Love
09. Love Crime
10. Warrior From Hell
11. You’re A Cheater
12. High On Love