Nine Inch Nails To Release ‘Add Violence’ EP, Listen To ‘Less Than’

Nine Inch Nails will release a new five-song EP, Add Violence, on Friday, July 21.

The EP’s first single, “Less Than,” can be streamed now.

Add Violence is the second installment of Nine Inch Nails’ three-part EP series. The first title, Not The Actual Events, arrived last December.

According to a press release, Add Violence finds the band becoming more accessible and impenetrable at the same time. The sonic palette expands significantly from Not The Actual Events, incorporating elements of beauty into the dark dissonance. The narrative arc linking the three records begins to emerge through the disassociated lyrics and the provocative and clue-filed cover artwork and accompanying physical component.”

Nine Inch Nails mainman Trent Reznor wrote in early June, “Did you know there’s a new top-secret Nine Inch Nails EP that will be released before the first shows we do this summer? Did you know Not The Actual Events was the first part of a related trilogy of EPs that will be released about six to eight months apart? Now you do.”

Not The Actual Events was the first new Nine Inch Nails music since 2013’s Hesitation Marks album.

Add Violence track listing:

01. Less Than
02. The Lovers
03. This Isn’t the Place
04. Not Anymore
05. The Background World